This project brings together ongoing research into the use of microtones from compositional, performance and analytical perspectives. 

Covering spectral, post-spectral, just intonation, historical and synthetic approaches, this project is particularly concerned with the expressive and structural potential of microtonal environments in interaction with conventional 12edo tuning.

Led by Martin Suckling, the project comprises compositions, software aids for microtonal composition and rehearsal, articles, talks and creative education projects linked to microtonal composition and performance, in particular the ‘Armistice Bells’ events developed in collaboration with the Scottish Chamber Orchestra. This research project has led to the development of two new undergraduate modules: ‘Spectral Music’ and ‘The Magic of Microtones’.

Selected resources

Scottish Chamber Orchestra/Martin Suckling: Armistice Bells creative education project 

Martin Suckling: Emily’s Electrical Absence discussion and performance 

Selected Composition outputs

– by Martin Suckling

  • Her Lullaby (solo viola, 2019)
  • This Departing Landscape (orchestra, 2019)
  • Emily’s Electrical Absence (string quintet, 2018)
  • The White Road (flute & orchestra, 2017)
  • Piano Concerto (piano & orchestra 2016)
  • Release (orchestra, 2013)
  • Candlebird (baritone, ensemble, 2011)

– by Robin Haigh

  • Grin (chamber orchestra, 2019)
  • Aesop (soprano recorder & ensemble, 2019)
  • Samoyeds (string quartet, 2018)
  • Morfydd (ensemble, 2018)

– by Andreas Tsiartas

  • String Quartet No. 2 (2019)
Featured researcher

Martin Suckling

Martin Suckling is a composer and violinist and is a Professor in the Music Department at the University.

View profile