Accessibility statement

Heads of Department Forum

Overview

Overview

The Heads of Department Forum facilitates discussion and communication between members of the University Executive Board, heads of academic departments and senior managers within the support services.

Subscribed members of HoD Forum may communicate by sending an email to hod-forum-group@york.ac.uk. Non-members wishing to circulate an email to the Forum should contact the list administrator, Julie Sugden at julie.sugden@york.ac.uk.

Membership

Membership

MemberDepartmentEmail
Professor Charlie Jeffery Vice-Chancellor and President vc@york.ac.uk
Professor Saul Tendler Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Provost saul.tendler@york.ac.uk
Professor Matthias Ruth Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research)

matthias.ruth@york.ac.uk

Professor Deborah Smith Special Advisor to the Vice-Chancellor (Research) deborah.smith@york.ac.uk 
Professor John Robinson Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Teaching, Learning and Students) john.robinson@york.ac.uk
Professor Kiran Trehan Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Partnerships and Engagement) kiran.trehan@york.ac.uk 
Professor Martin Smith Special Advisor to the Vice-Chancellor (Strategy) martin.smith@york.ac.uk
Professor Tracy Lightfoot Associate Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Teaching, Learning and Students) tracy.lightfoot@york.ac.uk
Professor Ambrose Field Dean of Faculty, Arts and Humanities ambrose.field@york.ac.uk
Professor Richard Ogden  Associate Dean (Research), Arts and Humanities richard.ogden@york.ac.uk
Dr Gill Chitty Associate Dean (Teaching, Learning and Students), Arts and Humanities gill.chitty@york.ac.uk
Professor Brian Fulton Dean of Faculty, Sciences brian.fulton@york.ac.uk 
Professor Sarah Thompson Associate Dean (Research), Sciences sarah.thompson@york.ac.uk  
Dr Steve King Associate Dean (Teaching, Learning and Students), Sciences steve.king@york.ac.uk
Professor Stuart Bell Dean of Faculty, Social Sciences stuart.bell@york.ac.uk
Professor Matthew Festenstein Associate Dean (Research), Social Sciences
Dr Jill Webb Associate Dean (Teaching, Learning and Students), Social Sciences jill.webb@york.ac.uk
Professor Tom Stoneham Dean, York Graduate Research School tom.stoneham@york.ac.uk 
Academic departments
Professor Nicky Milner Archaeology nicky.milner@york.ac.uk 
Professor James Moir Biology  james.moir@york.ac.uk
Professor Duncan Bruce Chemistry  chem-hod@york.ac.uk
Professor Neil Audsley Computer Science hod@cs.york.ac.uk
Professor Jo Swaffield Economics and Related Studies  econ-hod@york.ac.uk  
Professor Paul Wakeling Education  education-hod@york.ac.uk
Professor Andy Tyrrell Electronic Engineering andy.tyrrell@york.ac.uk
Professor Helen Smith English and Related Literature  helen.smith@york.ac.uk   
Professor Roland Gehrels Environment roland.gehrels@york.ac.uk
Professor Karl Atkin Health Sciences karl.atkin@york.ac.uk 
Professor Lawrence Black History lawrence.black@york.ac.uk
Professor Michael White History of Art  michael.white@york.ac.uk
Professor Una MacLeod Hull York Medical School  una.macleod@hyms.ac.uk 
Professor Dunstan Brown Language and Linguistic Science dunstan.brown@york.ac.uk
Professor Niall MacKay Mathematics  math511@york.ac.uk
Dr Aine Sheil (Interim) Music aine.sheil@york.ac.uk 
Professor Alan Thomas Philosophy ap.thomas@york.ac.uk 
Professor Kieran Gibson Physics  kieran.gibson@york.ac.uk
Professor Nina Caspersen Politics nina.caspersen@york.ac.uk
Professor Mike Burton Psychology psychology-hod@york.ac.uk
Professor John Hudson Social Policy and Social Work john.hudson@york.ac.uk 
Professor Paul Johnson Sociology  paul.johnson@york.ac.uk
Professor Duncan Petrie Theatre, Film, Television and Interactive Media duncan.petrie@york.ac.uk 
Professor Mark Freeman York Management School  mark.freeman@york.ac.uk
Professor Caroline Hunter York Law School 

caroline.hunter@york.ac.uk

Professor Maria Goddard Centre for Health Economics maria.goddard@york.ac.uk
Professor Lesley Stewart Centre for Reviews and Dissemination lesley.stewart@york.ac.uk
Dr Matthew Perry International Pathway College matthew.perry@york.ac.uk
Professor Erik Tonning Norwegian Study Centre nsc-director@york.ac.uk
Professor Werner Bonefeld School of Philosophy, Politics and Economics werner.bonefeld@york.ac.uk
Professor Sarah Rees Jones Centre for Medieval Studies sarah.reesjones@york.ac.uk
Support departments
Ms Jo Horsburgh, Registrar and Secretary  Registrar and Secretary registrar-and-secretary@york.ac.uk
Student and Academic Services 
Dr Wayne Campbell  Academic Registrar academic-registrar@york.ac.uk 
Ms Valerie Cotter Student Services valerie.cotter@york.ac.uk
Mr Nigel Dandy Academic Support Office nigel.dandy@york.ac.uk
Mr Tom Banham Careers and Placements tom.banham@york.ac.uk
Ms Paula Tunbridge Student Life and Wellbeing paula.tunbridge@york.ac.uk
Commercial Services 
Mr Jon Greenwood Director jon.greenwwood@york.ac.uk
Mr Philip Kember  Deputy Director philip.kember@york.ac.uk
Estates and Campus Services 
Mr Stephen Talboys Director stephen.talboys@york.ac.uk
Ms Liz Gatheral Estates Development liz.gatheral@york.ac.uk 
Mr Kevin Whelan Estates Operations kevin.whelan@york.ac.uk
Mr Dean Spears  Campus Services dean.spears@york.ac.uk
External Relations 
Ms Joan Concannon Director joan.concannon@york.ac.uk
Mr Iain Barr Centre for Lifelong Learning iain.barr@york.ac.uk
Dr Sarah Mitchell Events and Public Affairs sarah.mitchell@york.ac.uk 
Ms Hilary Layton Global Engagement hilary.layton@york.ac.uk
Mr Alistair Keely Media Relations alistair.keely@york.ac.uk 
Ms Mary Haworth Philanthropic Partnerships and Alumni mary.haworth@york.ac.uk
Ms Roxanne Pendlebury Student Recruitment and Admissions roxanne.pendlebury@york.ac.uk
Finance 
Mr Jeremy Lindley Director jeremy.lindley@york.ac.uk
Mr Rod Peet Deputy Finance Director rod.peet@york.ac.uk
Mr Rob Hunt Assistant Director of Finance - Procurement  rob.hunt@york.ac.uk
Vacancy Assistant Director of Finance -  Management Accounting  
Human Resources 
Dr Joss Ivory Director joss.ivory@york.ac.uk 
Rachael Millhouse HR - Operations

rachael.millhouse@york.ac.uk

Miss Helen Selvidge HR - Specialist Support

helen.selvidge@york.ac.uk 

Ms Susan Kane Learning and Development susan.kane@york.ac.uk
Mrs Maria Ayaz Equality and Diversity maria.ayaz@york.ac.uk 
Corporate and Information Services 
Mr Masud Khokhar Library and Archives masud.khokhar@york.ac.uk
Mr Arthur Clune IT Services arthur.clune@york.ac.uk 
Mr Andrew Male IT Services andrew.male@york.ac.uk
Mr Denis Fowler Health and Safety Services denis.fowler@york.ac.uk
Mrs Rebekah Desport Planning Office rebekah.desport@york.ac.uk
Mr Jamie Holliday Operations Manager (Arts and Humanities) jamie.holliday@york.ac.uk
Mrs Natalie Armstrong Operations Manager (Sciences) natalie.armstrong@york.ac.uk
Research and Enterprise Services 
Mr David McBeth Director david.mcbeth@york.ac.uk
Mrs Jennifer Gilmartin  Research Services jennifer.gilmartin@york.ac.uk
Mrs Amanda Selvaratnam Enterprise Services amanda.selvaratnam@york.ac.uk
College Principals
Ms Charley Bayley Alcuin College charley.bayley@york.ac.uk
Mr Andrew Ferguson Constantine College  andrew.ferguson@york.ac.uk
Dr Eleanor Brown Derwent College eleanor.brown@york.ac.uk 
Professor Matt Matravers Goodricke College matt.matravers@york.ac.uk
  Halifax College  
Dr Andrew Kerrigan James College andrew.kerrigan@york.ac.uk
Dr Dan Horsfall Langwith College


Dr Rob Aitken Vanbrugh College rob.aitken@york.ac.uk
Mr Russell Yates Wentworth College russell.yates@york.ac.uk

 

Meeting dates

Meeting dates

TermDetails
Autumn 2019  
Spring 2020
  • To be confirmed
Summer 2021
  • To be confirmed

Future meetings will be organised by the Vice-Chancellor's Office.

Contact details

Julie Sugden
Vice-Chancellor's department

Tel: +44 (0)1904 32 2926