Accessibility statement

Planning Committee


Terms of Reference 2022/23

On behalf of Senate:

1  Oversee the University's strategic planning, monitoring, post-investment evaluation and associated budgeting arrangements

2  Approve and monitor faculty, PSS, and thematic strategies and plans, ensuring alignment to the University Strategy

3  Approve the financial model, including target faculty operating margins, internal charge rates and budgetary envelope for professional support services for approval by University Executive Board (UEB)

4  Make recommendations to UEB regarding strategic initiatives and allocation of resource

5  Keep under review the University's range of disciplines and their strategies, in the context of the University Strategy

6  Annually recommend to UEB, and monitor, a five-year forecast, including a five-year capital expenditure budget

7  Consider and make recommendations on any matter of strategy or policy referred to it by Senate or UEB or any other body

8  Approve tuition fee rates and accommodation charges.

October 2022



Membership 2022/23

Ref Name   Term expires
1 Professor Saul Tendler Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Provost  N/A
2 Professor Andy Dougill Dean, Faculty of Sciences  N/A
3 Professor Karen Rowlingson Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences  N/A
4 Professor Ambrose Field Dean, Faculty of Arts and Humanities  N/A
5 Professor Tracy Lightfoot Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Teaching, Learning and Students  N/A
6 Professor Matthias Ruth Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Research  N/A

Professor Kiran Trehan

Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Partnerships and Engagement  N/A
8 Professor James Moir Biology July 2025
9 Professor Tim Andrews Psychology July 2024
10 Professor Helen Smith English and Related Literature July 2024
11 Professor Monika Schmid Language and Linguistic Science July 2024
12 Professor Paul Wakeling Education July 2024 
13 Professor Nina Caspersen Politics July 2024
   In attendance    
14 Dr Joss Ivory Chief Operating Officer N/A
15 Jeremy Lindley Director of Finance N/A
16 Harvey Dowdy Director of Technology, Estates and Facilities N/A
17 Rebekah Desport Director of Planning and Risk N/A 
18 Mike Clark Head of Academic Accounting N/A

Constituency of Members

1 The Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Provost (Chair)
2-4 The three Deans of Faculty (Arts & Humanities; Sciences; Social Sciences)
5 The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Teaching, Learning and Students)
6 The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research)
7 The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Partnerships and Engagement)
8-13 Six members of academic staff, two from each faculty
  In attendance:
14 The Chief Operating Officer
15 The Director of Finance
16 The Director of Technology, Estates and Facilities
17 The Director of Planning and Risk
18 The Head of Academic Accounting


Meeting dates

The meeting dates for the 2022/23 academic year are as follows:
  • Wednesday 26 October 2022
  • Wednesday 23 November 2022
  • Wednesday 7 December 2022
  • Wednesday 8 February 2023
  • Wednesday 29 March 2023
  • Wednesday 3 May 2023
  • Wednesday 7 June 2023
  • Wednesday 5 July 2023

All the meeting will take place on Zoom, 9.15 am - 1.00 pm


Associated committees

Finance Committee



Planning Committee reports to Senate



Professor Saul Tendler

Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Provost


Who to contact

Rebekah Desport

Director of Planning