Skip to content Accessibility statement

Constitution and Nominations Committee

Terms of reference

The full Terms of Reference of the Constitutions and Nominations Committee can be found in the following document:

 CNC Terms of Reference and Membership (PDF , 191kb)


Membership of Constitution and Nominations Committee

  • Denise Jagger (Chair) (Chair of Council and Pro-Chancellor) Ex Officio
  • Professor Charlie Jeffery (Vice-Chancellor and President) Ex officio
  • Professor Saul Tendler (Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Provost) Ex officio
  • Mr Philip Carpenter (Pro Chancellor and Chair of Remuneration Committee) Ex officio
  • Mr Chris Thompson (Pro-Chancellor, Treasurer and Chair of Finance Committee) Ex officio
  • Mr David Watson (Chair, Audit and Risk Committee) Ex officio
  • YUSU President Ex officio
  • GSA President Ex officio

All of the above plus the following members for the meeting(s) which address the Honorary Associations aspect of the remit:

  • 3 members of academic staff appointed by the Senate:
    • Professor Ian Hamilton, Department of Health Sciences (until 31 July 2025)
    • Professor Richard Ogden, Department of Language and Linguistic Science (until 31 July 2025)
    • Vacancy

In attendance

  • Director of External Relations, Ms Joan Concannon
  • University Secretary, Dr Adam Dawkins
  • Secretary to the Committee: Senior Governance and Assurance Officer, Dr Philip Evans

Meeting dates

Constitution and Nominations Committee meeting dates 2022-23

  • 22 November 2022, 13:30-15:00
  • 21 February 2023, 13:30-15:00
  • 16 May 2023, 13:30-15:00
  • 18 July 2023, 15:30-15:00


The criteria, deadline and process for submitting honorary degree nominations are available via the External Relations webpage

Constitution and Nominations Committee
reports to Council


  • Chair of Council, Denise Jagger

Who to contact

Other useful links