Skip to content Accessibility statement

International Committee

Terms of Reference

  1. Maintain an overview of best practice in international relations across the HE sector.
  2. Review the University strategy for internationalisation and monitor implementation of objectives.
  3. Approve targets or indicators of success in relation to these objectives and monitor progress against them.
  4. Provide advice and guidance to the Admissions and Student Recruitment team on international student recruitment.
  5. Approve an annual programme of international visits involving senior academic staff.
  6. Provide advice and guidance to the International Relations team on other aspects of its work. 
  7. Advise the Deputy Vice Chancellor and Provost on policy and practical issues concerning the University’s international relations.
  8. Receive reports from the Director of Internationalisation and other officers as appropriate.
  9. Report periodically to the Senate and other committees and groups as appropriate.
  10. Work with Deans of Faculties and Heads of Departments to ensure effective engagement of academic units in the University’s strategy for international relations.


Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Provost (Chair)

Professor Saul Tendler

Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research)

Professor Matthias Ruth

Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Partnerships & Engagement)

Professor Kiran Trehan

Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Teaching, Learning and Students)

Professor Tracy Lightfoot

Dean of the Graduate Research School

Dr Kathryn Arnold


Faculty representatives:

Faculty of Arts and Humanities

Professor Richard Ogden (until October 2022)

Professor Áine Sheil (Until October 2023)

Faculty of Social Sciences

Professor John Hudson (until October 2020)

Professor Yvonne Birks (until January 2023)

Faculty of Sciences

Professor Karl Atkins (until June 2022)

Professor Steve King (until October 2022)


Director of External Relations

Joan Concannon

Director of International Recruitment, Partnerships and Mobility

Rachel MacSween

Head of International Student Recruitment

Gwion Sims

Head of Academic Accounting

Mike Clark


Matt Johnstone (until June 2021)


Purnur Altay (until June 2021)


The Committee will meet at least once a term, with meetings scheduled to allow reports to go forward to meetings of Senate. Additional meetings may be called at the discretion of the Deputy Vice Chancellor & Provost.

Upcoming meetings

  • Thursday 11 June 2020, 09.30am-11.30am in H/G15
  • Thursday 08 October  2020, 09.30am-11.30am in H/G15  
  • Thursday 04 February 2021, 09.30am-11.30am in H/G15 
  • Wednesday 23 June 2.30pm-4.30pm - room TBC

International Committee reports to Senate


Professor Saul Tendler

Who to contact