Skip to content Accessibility statement

University Senate

Chaired by the Vice-Chancellor, the Senate meets four times per year and is responsible for regulating and directing the academic work of the University. Acting in an advisory capacity to the Council, the Senate is responsible for overseeing all academic matters including the approval of new courses and the supervision and discipline of students.

Senate is regarded as the authority on purely academic matters and its membership therefore comprises the Pro-Vice-Chancellors, heads of academic departments, elected members of academic staff, the Director of Information, two of the College Provosts and representatives of the student body.

Senate delegates much of its work to a series of sub-committees chaired by the senior academic officers and to Faculty Boards chaired by the Faculty Deans.

Additional information


University Senate chair

  • Professor Charlie Jeffrey
    Vice-Chancellor & President


Meeting dates


  • Tuesday 11 May 2021 (paper deadline 30 April 2021)
    2.15pm in Bowland Lecture Theatre, Berrick Saul Building
  • Tuesday 6 July 2021 (paper deadline 25 June 2021)
    2.15pm in Bowland Lecture Theatre, Berrick Saul Building