Skip to content

Membership of Council

Information about council attendees

Constituency and membership

Also see Member profiles for more information and registers of interest.

The Pro-Chancellors

Ms Denise Jagger (until July 2020)
Chair of Council

Mr Philip Carpenter (until July 2019)

The Acting Vice-Chancellor & President

Professor Saul Tendler

The Deputy Vice-Chancellor & Provost

Professor Saul Tendler

The Treasurer

Mr David Dickson (until July 2019)

Four members elected by the Senate, including one Pro-Vice-Chancellor 

Professor Neil Audsley (until July 2021)
Computer Science
Professor Duncan Petrie (until July 2021)
Professor Caroline Hunter (until July 2020)
Professor Deborah Smith (until July 2020)
Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research)

Two members of the support staff of the University elected by the support staff

Mr Sam Bayley (until July 2020)
Department Manager, Sociology

Dr Rachel Curwen (until July 2021)
Senior Research Development Manager, Research and Enterprise

The President of the Students' Union

Mr James Durcan (until July 2019)
Students' Union

The President of the Graduate Students' Association

Sehrish Shafi (until July 2019)
Graduate Students' Association

Such other persons, not exceeding six in all and not being members of the staff of the University, as may be co-opted by the Council

Dr Karl Dittrich (until July 2019)
Dr Christopher Dye (until July 2019)
Ms Lindsey Fussell (until July 2020)
Mr Chris Thompson (until July 2022)

Two persons, not being members of the staff of the University, appointed by the Court on the recommendation of the Nominations Committee

Ms Nicola Inchbald (until July 2019)
Mr Richard Sommers (until July 2020)

In attendance

The Registrar and Secretary
Ms Jo Horsburgh

The Director of Finance
Mr Jeremy Lindley

The University Governance Officer
Dr Philip Evans

University Council Chair

Who to contact

Meeting dates

All meetings take place on Wednesdays at 12.00 in room H/G21, Heslington Hall.

  • 7 November 2018
  • 23 January 2019
  • 27 February 2019
  • 22 May 2019
  • 24 July 2019

Away day

  • Thursday 11 October 2018 at 09:00, Ron Cooke Hub