Skip to content Accessibility statement

University Council

In accordance with the Charter and Statutes, the University‚Äôs governing body is the Council. The Council is ultimately responsible for ensuring there is effective management in place for the institution and for agreeing its future development.

In order to provide independent oversight the Chair and the majority of Council members are external or 'lay' members, ie they are not members of University staff.

The Council meets four times each year and also holds a strategic away day at the start of each new academic session.

Terms of reference

The Council's terms of reference are set out in its Statement of Primary Responsibilities, which also provides details about the way in which it undertakes reviews of its own effectiveness and delegates authority.

Find out more

University Council Chair

Who to contact

 

2020-2021

Afternoon events will be held on Tuesday at 15:00 followed by a dinner at 18:00 in HG/21

  • Monday 9 November 2020
  • Tuesday 2 March 2021
  • Tuesday 25 May 2021
  • Tuesday 27 July 2021

All meetings take place on Wednesday at 09:30 in room RCH/103, Ron Cooke Hub

  • Tuesday 10 November 2020
  • Wednesday 16 December 2020
  • Monday 25 January 2021 (14:00-16:00)
  • Wednesday 03 March 2021
  • Wednesday 26 May 2021
  • Wednesday 28 July 2021

Away day

  • Thursday 15 October 2020 - 09:30-16:00 RCH/103