Remuneration Committee

Chair: Sir Christopher O'Donnell, Chair of Council

Terms of Reference

Terms of Reference

  1. To review and determine the Vice-Chancellor's salary and terms of employment
  2. To receive proposals from the Vice-Chancellor in respect of salaries for members of the senior management pay group, namely the Deputy Vice-Chancellor & Provost, the Pro Vice-Chancellors, the Deans of Faculty, the Registrar & Secretary and the Director of Finance, and to determine such salaries
  3. To keep under review expenses reimbursed and allowances paid to the Vice-Chancellor and other senior staff and officers
  4. To keep under review the University's remuneration strategy as it relates to professors and other senior members of staff.



Chair of Council (ex officio) (Chair) Sir Christopher O'Donnell
Treasurer (ex officio) Mr David Dickson

Lay members apppointed by Council, two of whom are members of Council

Mrs Jenny McAleese [member of Council]  (until 31 July 2017)

Mr John Lister [member of Council]  (until 31 July 2020)

Mr Christopher Noakes (until 31 July 2018)

Mrs Claire Wesley (until 31 July 2018)

In Attendance

Vice-Chancellor  [except for matters connected with paragraph 1 of the Terms of Reference]

Professor Koen Lamberts
Registrar and Secretary  [except for matters connected with paragraphs 1 and 2 of the Terms of Reference] vacancy
Director of Human Resources  Mrs Paula Tunbridge (Acting)
Chair of Remuneration Sub-Committee, whenever RSC reports are discussed Professor Saul Tendler

Dates of Meetings

Meetings 2016-17

  • Friday, 4 November 2016  10:00-12:00  H/G19, Heslington Hall
  • Monday, 15 May 2017       09:00-11:00  H/G15, Heslington Hall

Who to contact