Disability Services

Disability Services helps students with disabilities to undertake appropriate assessment and be provided with relevant support for their disability.

Disabled students

Information on support for students with disabilities is available on funding, facilities, assessments and specific impairments.

Disabled staff

We can also provide advice and information tostaff with disabilities and their managers about making appropriate adjustments.

Guidelines for tutors

Advice and guidance is available for all teaching staff on supporting students with disabilities.

Guidelines for admissions staff

For an overview of the principles and process maps for admission of students with a disability.

Departmental Disability Representatives

A list of Disability Reps in University departments:

https://docs.google.com/a/york.ac.uk/document/d/1iM_UP_Ccqaqpt8g2uu3wY3qfeMiVkdFAr0wccPB1jA0/edit?usp=sharing

Disability Objectives

Details of annual disability objectives and annual reports

Our staff

NameRoleEmailExtension
James Browne Disability Support Adviser - (Arts and Humanities) james.browne@york.ac.uk 4049
Katie Emsley Disability Support Adviser - (Social Sciences) katie.emsley@york.ac.uk 4134
Claire Shanks Disability Support Adviser - (Sciences) claire.shanks@york.ac.uk 4101
Agnes Mcmonagle Dyslexia Support Adviser agnes.mcmonagle@york.ac.uk 2150
Liz Brogden Dyslexia Support Adviser  liz.brogden@york.ac.uk 4146
Vacant Dyslexia Support Adviser    
Vacant

Office Manager (Monday, Tuesday)

Administrative Assistant (Wednesday PM  - Friday)

kirsty.dixon@york.ac.uk 4785
Angela Parker Office Manager (Wednesday - Friday) angela.parker@york.ac.uk 4086
Karen Waclawek Administrative Assistant karen.waclawek@york.ac.uk 2703

Who to contact

  • Disability Services
    Sally Baldwin Buildings Block B
    Tel: 01904 324785
    Fax: 01904 324142
    DisabilityServices@
    york.ac.uk
  • Office hours: 10am - 4pm, Monday to Friday

Other sources of advice