Skip to content

Want to know what the faculty board does?

Arts and Humanities
Faculty Board

Members of the board

NameAppointmentMembership
Professor Judith Buchanan
judith.buchanan@york.ac.uk
Interim Dean, Faculty of Arts and Humanities  Ex-officio
Professor John Schofield
john.schofield@york.ac.uk
Head of Department, Archaeology  Ex-officio
Dr Helen Smith
helen.smith@york.ac.uk
Head of Department, English  Ex-officio
Professor Lawrence Black
lawrence.black@york.ac.uk
Head of Department, History  Ex-officio
Professor Michael White
michael.white@york.ac.uk
Head of Department, History of Art  Ex-officio
Professor Dunstan Brown
dunstan.brown@york.ac.uk
Head of Department, Language and Linguistic Science  Ex-officio
Professor Ambrose Field
ambrose.field@york.ac.uk
Head of Department, Music  Ex-officio
Professor Alan Thomas
ap.thomas@york.ac.uk
Head Department, Philosophy  Ex-officio
Professor Duncan Petrie
duncan.petrie@york.ac.uk
Head of Department, Theatre, Film and Television  Ex-officio

Professor Mark Hodson
mark.hodson@york.ac.uk

Head of Department, Environment ‘Cross bencher’ Sciences Faculty
Professor Caroline Hunter
caroline.hunter@york.ac.uk
Head of the York Law School ‘Cross bencher’ Social Sciences Faculty

Dr Jeremy Goldberg 
jeremy.goldberg@york.ac.uk

Elected from the History Department

Elected representative
1 year term

Dr Tom Cantrell
tom.cantrell@york.ac.uk
Elected from the Theatre, Film and Television Department

Elected representative
3 year term

Vacancy  

Elected representative

Vacancy

 

Elected representative

Heather Turner
hlt533@york.ac.uk
(Language and Linguistic Science)
Postgraduate Student Representative

Elected representative

Matthew Worrall
mw1386@york.ac.uk
(Archaeology)
Undergraduate Student Representative

Elected representative

In attendance

NameAppointmentMembership
Dr Kate Giles
kate.giles@york.ac.uk

Associate Dean, Faculty of Arts and Humanities

In attendance
Deborah Hines
deborah.hines@york.ac.uk

Department Manager, Language and Linguistic Science

In attendance as representative of the Faculty Administrative Support Group 

Janet Haffegee
janet.haffegee@york.ac.uk

Human Resources Partner (Arts and Humanities) In attendance
Geoff Harrison
geoff.harrison@york.ac.uk 
Planning Officer (Arts and Humanities) In attendance
Karen Jones
karen.jones@york.ac.uk
Management Accountant In attendance

Fiona Harris
dean-artshum-pa@york.ac.uk

PA to the Dean

In attendance

Catherine Hardman
catherine.hardman@york.ac.uk
Research Development Manager (Arts and Humanities)

In attendance

Jamie Holliday
jamie.holliday@york.ac.uk
Operations Manager

In attendance

Tamaki Laycock
AcademicOfficer@yusu.org
YUSU Academic Officer In attendance