Skip to content

Want to know what the faculty board does?

Arts and Humanities
Faculty Board

Members of the board

NameAppointmentMembership
Professor Ambrose Field
ambrose.field@york.ac.uk
Interim Dean, Faculty of Arts and Humanities Ex-officio
Professor Nicky Milner

Head of Department, Archaeology Ex-officio
Dr Helen Smith
helen.smith@york.ac.uk
Head of Department, English Ex-officio
Professor Lawrence Black
lawrence.black@york.ac.uk
Head of Department, History Ex-officio
Professor Michael White
michael.white@york.ac.uk
Head of Department, History of Art Ex-officio
Professor Dunstan Brown
dunstan.brown@york.ac.uk
Head of Department, Language and Linguistic Science Ex-officio
Áine Sheil
Interim Head of Department, Music Ex-officio
Professor Alan Thomas
ap.thomas@york.ac.uk
Head Department, Philosophy Ex-officio
Professor Duncan Petrie
duncan.petrie@york.ac.uk
Head of Department, Theatre, Film and Interactive Media  Ex-officio

Irene D'Amico
irene.damico@york.ac.uk

Department of Physics ‘Cross bencher’ Sciences Faculty
Professor Caroline Hunter
caroline.hunter@york.ac.uk
Head of the York Law School ‘Cross bencher’ Social Sciences Faculty

Dr Jeremy Goldberg 
jeremy.goldberg@york.ac.uk

Elected from the History Department

Elected representative
1 year term 
Serving until October 2019

Dr Tom Cantrell
tom.cantrell@york.ac.uk
Elected from the Theatre, Film and Interactive Media Department

Elected representative
3 year term

Stephanie Wynne-Jones
Elected from the Department of Archaeology

Elected representative

Jeanne Nuechterlein

Elected from the Department of History of Art

Elected representative

Camilla Pederiva
facultyrep-artsandhumanities@yusu.org
Undergraduate Student Representative

Elected representative

Amy Hopkins
facultyrep-artsandhumanities@yorkgsa.org

Postgraduate Student Representative

Elected representative

In attendance

NameAppointmentMembership
Gill Chitty

Associate Dean for Teaching and Learning

In attendance
Richard Ogden

Associate Dean for Research

In attendance
Deborah Hines
deborah.hines@york.ac.uk

Department Manager, Language and Linguistic Science

In attendance as representative of the Faculty Administrative Support Group 

Janet Haffegee
janet.haffegee@york.ac.uk

Human Resources Partner (Arts and Humanities) In attendance
Geoff Harrison
geoff.harrison@york.ac.uk 
Planning Officer (Arts and Humanities) In attendance
Karen Jones
karen.jones@york.ac.uk
Management Accountant In attendance

Sarah Atkinson
dean-artshum-pa@york.ac.uk

PA to the Dean

In attendance

Catherine Hardman
catherine.hardman@york.ac.uk
Research Development Manager (Arts and Humanities)

In attendance

Jamie Holliday
jamie.holliday@york.ac.uk
Operations Manager

In attendance

Giang Nguyen
AcademicOfficer@yusu.org
YUSU Academic Officer In attendance