Skip to content

Postgraduate Awards at York

There are a range of awards offered at the University of York from scholarships directly funded by the University to those funded by UK Research Councils. There are also scholarships supported through generous donations from Alumni as well as a number of other smaller schemes. The types, funding and numbers of awards for postgraduate students change every year according to the type of opportunities available.

UK Research Council funded Studentships

The University of York also offers Studentships funded through the UK Research Councils. The funding arrangements differ between Research Councils so some Studentships are managed centrally and other through Departments. In previous years, the arrangements have been:

Central applications - AHRC (WRoCAH: Now open for 2015 entry!), ESRC

Department applications - BBSRC, EPSRC, MRC, STFC

White Rose Studentships

The University of York is part of the White Rose Universities Consortium with the Universities of Leeds and Sheffield. In support of this partnership, each University offers studentships through networks between the Universities. Students in receipt of these awards will be based at one of the institutions but have a co-supervisor at another institution in order to widen research links and interests.

Scholarships for international students

Many different types of Scholarships are available for international students. For more information about these visit the Fees and Funding pages for International Students pages.

Departmental Scholarships

Many Departments fund their own Scholarships. For more information visit the web pages of the individual departments.

Summary of types of scholarships offered in 2014/15 entry

For full details of each scholarship, including criteria for eligibility, known availability for 2015/6, applying and terms and conditions please click on the name of the scholarship.


Scholarship / Studentship


Number that were available in 2014/5

YuFund Scholarships (for specific MA courses in Philosophy)

Fee waiver and a stipend totalling £10,000.

Applications are now closed for the 2014/15 academic year.

White Rose Scholarships (for PhD applicants in eligible departments studying a specific topic)

Fee waiver at the home rate, a Research Council equivalent stipend*, and a research support grant of £900


AHRC Studentships (for PhD and Masters applicants in Arts and Humanities subjects)

Fee waiver at the home rate and a Research Council stipend*.


Wolfson Postgraduate Scholarships in the Humanities (for PhD applicants in specific Arts and Humanities subjects)

Minimum stipend of £17,000 and a full fee waiver.


ESRC Studentships (for PhD and Masters applicants in Economics and Social  research related subjects)

Fee waiver at the home rate and a Research Council stipend*.


York Masters Opportunity Scholarships (for Masters students)

Fee waiver at the home rate and a stipend of £3,800.

 Applications are now closed for the 2014/15 academic year.

Bridge Scholarships (specific Masters courses in Social Policy and Social Work, Electronics, and Psychology)

Fee waiver and a stipend totalling £10,000.

Applications are now closed for the 2014/15 academic year.

*The Standard Doctoral Research Council stipend for 2014/5 is £13,863.  Rates for Collaborative Doctoral Awards, Research Preparation Masters may differ.  Stipend rates for 2015/6 have not been set by the Research Councils.

Click here for a breakdown of postgraduate fees for 2015/6.

Depending on your particular circumstances, scholarships may be regarded as taxable income. Please visit HM Inland Revenue web site for more details about the subject.

For more information about Studentships contact the Research Student Administration Team:

A coin being dropped into a piggy bank

AHRC logo

White Rose College of Arts and Humanities Logo

Who to contact

Research Student Administration Team
Registry Services
Student Administration Building
Vanbrugh Walkway
York YO10 5DD

Tel: 01904 32 4519

(for funding, leave of absence or records enquiries)

(for any thing to do with the research examination process; presentation of theses, extensions, appointment of examiners enquiries)

Office hours: 9am - 5pm, Monday to Friday