The Morning Line

The Morning Line is a large-scale mixed media project by Matthew Ritchie designed with architects Aranda\Lasch and civil engineers Arup Advanced Geometry Unit. It was commissioned by Thyssen-Bornemisza Art Contemporary (TB-A21) as part of a series of art pavilions and has been in development since 2004. The work was first exhibited to the public in October 2008 at the Centro Andaluz de Arte Contemporáneo, in Seville, Spain as part of the Seville Biennial of Contemporary Art. The current exhibition opened in May 2010 in Eminönü Square, Istanbul as a centrepiece of Istanbul’s City of Culture 2010 programme. The Morning Line will then be exhibited in New York and Vienna in 2010/11.

In 2008 TB-A21 commissioned the mrc to research and develop an audio system that could realise spatial sound works on The Morning Line. This initial commission resulted in a multi-spatial sound encoding and decoding system, software tools to support multi-spatial composition and exhibition control systems for a specially developed 48 channel sound system (using Meyer MM-4XP loudspeakers and bespoke Meyer subwoofers). Software was also developed for live spatialisation and interaction, and is used in concert presentations on the system.

In addition to the design of the spatial audio systems, the mrc works closely with the composers commissioned to write new works for the pavilion. New artists will be commissioned to produce spatial works for each forthcoming installation.

The first group of artists, whose work premiered at the Seville installation of The Morning Line, includes Bryce Dessner in collaboration with David Sheppard and Evan Ziporyn, Jónsi and Alex, Mark Fell in collaboration with Roc Jiménez de Cisneros, Florian Hecker, Bruce Gilbert, Lee Ranaldo, Thom Willems, Chris Watson.

The Istanbul installation features new works by Turkish composers Cevdet Erek, Batuhan Bozkurt, Mehmet Can Özer and Erdem Helvacıoğlu and a series of works curated by artist Russell Haswell including pieces by Peter Zinovieff, Jana Winderen, Carl Michael von Hausswolff and Yasunao Tone.

Further Information:

TB-A21 Website
Matthew Ritchie's Website
Cycling 74 Article